City Council Elections

City Council Elections are held on the first Saturday in May every year.  The Mayor, Place 2 and Place 4 are in even years and Places 1, 3 and 5 are in odd numbered years.  The next regularly scheduled General Election is May 1, 2021.  More Election information can be found at the Texas Secretary of State’s Election Division website.  

Early voting typically starts a few weeks before the actual election date. As elections dates get closer, more detailed information will be made available on this page.  In order to vote in city elections, you must be registered with the State of Texas. Voter registration for West Lake Hills residents is handled by the Travis County Tax Assessor-Collector.

The City’s General Election for 2020 was scheduled for Saturday, May 2, 2020, for the purpose of electing the following positions: Mayor, Councilmember Place 2 and Councilmember Place 4.  

This Election was canceled via Ordinance Number 2020-003 on February 26, 2020 as the candidates were unopposed.  

The following people will be declared duly elected at the May 13, 2020 City Council Meeting:

  • Linda Anthony Re-Elected as Mayor of the City of West Lake Hills
  • Brian Plunkett Re-Elected to Place 4 of the City Council of the City of West Lake Hills
  • Darin Walker Re-Elected to Place 4 of the City Council of the City of West Lake Hills

Important Election Documents

Information regarding the November 2020 Bond Election can be accessed here: Bond Information